God’s Presence in Our Lives

The divine essence

The divine essence (Photo credit: Guðskraftur)

“During our lives we experience a number of events which give us great happiness or pride. However, we rarely think about all of them at once. Sometimes we may feel that nothing good happens to us. At such times it helps to recall how lucky we have been.”

As I was reading Gertrude Moscowitz’s book ‘Caring and Sharing in the Foreign Language Class’, I came across the excerpt above that got me thinking. All of a sudden, I was overwhelmed by the memory of so many beautiful moments in my life, especially those ones in which I could feel God’s presence.

There is one particular event that I recall so vividly even today: I describe it in detail in Chapter 4 of my book. I remember that sweet, humble woman who looked like an angel on earth, multiplying and spreading love around her, giving away her best gifts without asking anything in return.

That was an amazing experience. Actually, it was one of the best lessons I’ve learned in my life. It was a lesson about love, solidarity, compassion, generosity, you name it. You don’t meet people like her every day. Sadly, I saw her only once, but it was enough to learn that you don’t need to live in palaces surrounded by gold to feel the power of God.

God can be found in the poorest places as long as people cherish and care for each other, not allowing inferior sentiments to set in. Wherever there is LOVE, sympathy, gentleness, kindness, there you will find the presence of the Lord.

Can you tell about an experience that has made you feel His presence? What was it like?

One comment

  1. Howdy! I know this is sort of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established website like yours
    require a large amount of work? I am brand new to running a blog however
    I do write in my diary daily. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my personal experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips
    for brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

